Tongues of Fire: Who is the Holy Spirit?

Pentecost is on its way. Sometimes this beautiful feast gets lost in the summer season — it’s time for vacations and sunshine, and sometimes after the excitement of Great Lent and Holy Pascha, we can just slide right past these early summer feasts. There’s probably no Sunday School in session, so it’s up to the parents and the godparents and grandparents to bring the kids to church and to tell them that…

The Monastery in our Hearts

This post originally appeared as a podcast episode, in 2012. This weekend, I was reminded of it, and felt compelled to release it on the blog for those who might have missed it.   One of the great treasures of Orthodoxy is our tradition of monasticism. You know, there are Orthodox monasteries that have stood for over a thousand years, weathering storms and earthquakes, surviving political unrest and bandits and outlasting empires.…

Death & Dying: Talking with Kids

  This episode of Raising Saints was released as a podcast in the summer of 2014. Our new Ancient Faith intern, Dan Bein, reminded me of this beloved past episode and I just had to repost it.    We lost a beloved member of our family over the summer: my husband’s 89-year old uncle Dan was one of my favorite people in this world, and a fixture in our home. Dan found…

Tune in tonight!

Tonight, my co-author Caleb Shoemaker and I will be live with Fr. Barnabas Powell on Ancient Faith radio!  Join us at at 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central (that’s also known as 6pm Mountain or 5pm Pacific…) for a live call in show!  Bring your best questions, and join us as we discuss the new book, and methods for bringing an Orthodox rhythm to your home. http://www.ancientfaith.com/podcasts/faithencouragedlive

New Book: Blueprints for the Little Church

I am very excited to announce that my book with Caleb Shoemaker, Blueprints for the Little Church: Creating an Orthodox Home, is now at the printers, and available for pre-order at the Ancient Faith Store! From Melissa Tsongranis, Associate Director of the Center for Family Care of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America: This book is a much-needed resource for families looking to instill the ethos of the Church in the home. It is…

Christ is risen! and other salutations…

Christ is risen! Χριστός Ανέστη! Христос васкрсе! A friend of mine recently grew frustrated with the bored, unispired way he heard people wishing one another the Paschal greeting: “Christ is risen!” It seems that he’d attended a service where no one seemed to mean it. The priest called it out, and the bored congregation responded mechanically. The glorious news of Lord’s resurrection had become, simply, as he put it, ‘a synonym for…